St. Luke 7: 1 – 10

Now when he had ended all his sayings in the audience of the people, he entered into Capernaum.

2 And a certain centurion’s servant, who was dear unto him, was sick, and ready to die.

3 And when he heard of Jesus, he sent unto him the elders of the Jews, beseeching him that he would come and heal his servant.

4 And when they came to Jesus, they besought him instantly, saying, That he was worthy for whom he should do this:

5 For he loveth our nation, and he hath built us a synagogue.

6 Then Jesus went with them. And when he was now not far from the house, the centurion sent friends to him, saying unto him, Lord, trouble not thyself: for I am not worthy that thou shouldest enter under my roof:

7 Wherefore neither thought I myself worthy to come unto thee: but say in a word, and my servant shall be healed.

8 For I also am a man set under authority, having under me soldiers, and I say unto one, Go, and he goeth; and to another, Come, and he cometh; and to my servant, Do this, and he doeth it.

9 When Jesus heard these things, he marvelled at him, and turned him about, and said unto the people that followed him, I say unto you, I have not found so great faith, no, not in Israel.

10 And they that were sent, returning to the house, found the servant whole that had been sick.

I looked up the word; this is what I found: faith

/fāTH/

noun

noun: faith

  1. 1. complete trust or confidence in someone or something.”this restores one’s faith in politicians” h Similar:trust

belief

confidence

conviction

credence

reliance

dependence

optimism

hopefulness

hope

expectation

h

Opposite:

mistrust

2.

strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.

“bereaved people who have shown supreme faith”

h

Similar:

religion

church

sect

denomination

persuasion

Jesus had not found such ‘great faith’ in all of Israel. I wonder what He would find now? Is our own faith in Him that great? The most difficult ending of a prayer, before we say Amen, is “thy will be done”. Because we really mean, let Your will be what I want it to be in this situation. But we can’t see what He sees. We can’t know what He knows. When His will goes against our hope, I strongly suspect we’ve been spared from something even worse. I believe that. Just keep in mind the lesson of the mustard seed.

One thought on “St. Luke 7: 1 – 10”

  1. Now that we are old enough to see how God works in our life, we see that what we thought was bad has actually turned out for our good. He always knows best. He uses everything for His purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment